

88th Legislative Session for Transportation in Texas

Today, Transportation Advocates of Texas is proud to announce the achievements of the 88th Session of the Texas Legislature and express our gratitude to all those who contributed to this remarkable journey. These legislative wins would not have been possible without the unwavering support and dedication of those committed to advancing transportation in Texas.

"The 88th Legislature made another historic investment in transportation infrastructure," said Steven Albright, TAOT Vice Chair. "By continuing important transportation revenue sources, the legislature put TxDOT on a path to address our state's future transportation needs. TAOT is truly grateful to the entire legislature and especially to Sen. Nichols, Representative Canales, Lt. Governor Patrick, Speaker Phelan, and Governor Abbott for their continued commitment to ensuring Texas has a world-class transportation system."

Some of the most impactful transportation legislation passed in 2023 includes:

- HB 2230, which ensures that the State Highway Fund will continue to receive an annual allocation of revenue from oil and gas severance taxes, as approved by 80 percent of voters statewide in 2014. HB 2230 extends Proposition 1 funding from 2034 to 2042.
- SCR 2, which ensures that annual revenue from Proposition 7 sales tax and vehicle sales tax provisions as approved by 83 percent of voters in 2015 will remain an important funding source for TxDOT. SCR 2 extends Proposition 7 until 2039 (vehicle sales tax).and 2042 (sales tax).
- SB 505, which implements a \$200/year additional registration fee for electric vehicles to replace lost gas tax revenue, taking effect September 1, 2023. SB 505 will ensure that there is an almost dollar-for-dollar replacement for gas and diesel taxes as electric vehicles become a greater share of the overall vehicle fleet.
- **HB 1**, passed by the Senate and House on the final weekend of the session, raises TxDOT's 2024-2025 biennial budget to \$37.22 billion, an increase of 22 percent over the 2022-2023 budget of \$30.35 billion. This is primarily due to record levels of revenue from Proposition 1, Proposition 7, and federal funds.

"This package of legislation helps preserve and expand primary funding sources for highway projects in our state," explained Victor Boyer, TAOT Past Chair. "Forty percent of TxDOT's annual revenue (about \$6 billion per year) is now derived from Proposition 1 and 7 revenues. Similarly, SB 505 will help preserve the effective funding from gas and diesel taxes by providing a replacement revenue stream as a greater percentage of the state's vehicle fleet transitions to electric."

To each and every individual who played a role in this success, we extend our heartfelt gratitude for your tireless efforts and unwavering commitment to the well-being of our communities. With collaboration, innovation, and determination, we have paved the way for a brighter future for transportation in Texas. Our victories in HB 2230, SCR 2, SB 505, and HB 1 represent meaningful progress towards a safer, more efficient, and sustainable transportation system for Texas residents now and into the future.

Sincerely, Drew Campbell TAOT Chairman

Board of Directors

Drew Campbell

TAOT Chairman Dallas Regional Mobility Coalition

Andrea French

TAOT Chair Elect Scenic Houston – Houston Region

Vic Boyer

TAoT Immediate Past Chair San Antonio Mobility Coalition

Larissa Philpot

TAOT Board Secretary East Texas Regional Representative Nacogdoches EDC

Anne O'Ryan

TAoT Vice Chair Financial Management AAA Texas/AAA New Mexico

Steven Albright

TAoT Vice Chair Legislative Relations The Associated General Contractors of Texas

Brandi Bird

TAOT Board Vice Chair Research & Education Dallas Regional Mobility Coalition Bird Advocacy & Consulting

Vacant

TAOT Board Vice Chair Membership Austin Regional Representative Austin Chamber

Chuy Gonzalez

TAOT Board Vice Chair Communications Pape-Dawson Engineers

Daniel Silva

Rio Grande Valley Regional Representative Rio Grande Valley Partnership

Chris Fisher

Southeast Texas Regional Representative Port of Beaumont

Lauren Garduno

Ports-to-Plains Alliance Panhandle/West Texas Regional Representative

Dennis Christiansen

Brazos Valley Regional Representative Brazos County

John LaRue

Coastal Bend Regional Representative United Corpus Christi Chamber

Robert Morris

Laredo Regional Representative

Jeff Williams

Fort Worth/Arlington Regional Representative Tarrant Regional Transportation Coalition

Cory Floyd

Northeast Texas Regional Representative

Scott Stewart

ACEC Texas

Kent O'Brien

Ouiddity

Jennifer Woodard

The Associated General Contractors of Texas

Bob Lanham

Williams Brothers Construction Co.

Chris Wallace

North Texas Commission

Tara Snowden

Zachry Corporation

Don Rodman

I-69 Alliance

Jerry Haddican

S&B Infrastructure

Monty Wynn

Texas Municipal League